“On the Edge” Contest Winners


Congratulations to the winners of the
Redwood Writers “On the Edge” 2015 Genre Contest!

On the Edge contest winners

The winners of the Redwood Writers 2015 “On the Edge” contest were announced at the June 14, 2015, general meeting. Pictured from left: Bo Kearnes, Patsy Taylor, J.J. Lamb, Mike Bartos and Ana Manwaring.

[wc_divider style=”solid” line=”double” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””][wc_row][wc_column size=”one-third” position=”first”]

“Secret Recipe”


[/wc_column][wc_column size=”two-third” position=”last”]
1st-Placepaper review website


Click here to read “Secret Recipe”

PATSY ANN TAYLOR’s prize-winning poetry and short stories have been published in literary journals and anthologies including Illya’s HoneyMain Street Rag, and Redwood Writer anthologies. She is a member of the Marin, Santa Rosa, and Napa Valley branches of the California Writers Club, the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI), and Sisters in Crime. She’s also a founding member of Cottage Poets, a Los Angeles-based women’s workshop.

As a former board member of CWC San Fernando Valley, Taylor was presented the Betty Freeman Award. As well, she was the recipient of the Sue Alexander Service and Encouragement Award from SCBWI Los Angeles. Currently, Stealing Home is Taylor’s middle-grade novel she is preparing for publication. Taylor lives in Napa with her husband.

[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””][wc_row][wc_column size=”two-third” position=”first”]

[/wc_column][wc_column size=”one-third” position=”last”]




Click here to read “Scooch”

Michael R. Bartos, M.D., has practiced psychiatry in Napa the past 26 years. While chief of staff at Napa State Hospital, he began writing his first novel BASH (Bay Area State Hospital), published in 2012. The Napa Valley Register called BASH “enthralling” and “darkly comic and hair-raising.” In the non-fiction arena, Bartos has also has published a non-fiction book on bipolar disorders entitled Why Your Depression Isn’t Getting Better. Bartos, a native of Pennsylvania, lived and practiced in Charleston, S.C., before moving to Napa where he lives with his wife, Jody. His son, Sam, is an advertising writer living in New York City. As an amateur jazz musician, music influences Bartos’ writing. Additionally, the lyrical charm of the Southern culture in Charleston, the setting for BASH, plays an important role in his writing. Currently, Bartos is working on his second novel.

[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””][wc_row][wc_column size=”one-third” position=”first”]

“The Good Man”

[/wc_column][wc_column size=”two-third” position=”last”]



Click here to read “The Good Man”

Bo Kearnes has written award-winning short stories and poetry including publication in the annual California Writer’s Club Literary Review and The Red Wheelbarrow Literary Magazine. He won first prize in the Napa Valley Jessamyn West writing competition and was a finalist in the Glimmer Train Fiction Open competition. Recently, Kearnes completed an 88,500-word manuscript for Ashes in a Coconut, a novel set in Indonesia where he lived for three years.

[wc_divider style=”solid” line=”double” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]

CONTEST_header_JUDGES[wc_row][wc_column size=”one-third” position=”first”]


J.J. Lamb

J.J. Lamb

J.J. Lamb is a former journalist, pilot and news photographer who began writing short stories during his spare time in the Army. His stories led to a PI series featuring Zachariah Tobias Rolfe III who specializes in gambling crimes, working both sides of the table. No Pat Hands, the fourth book in the series, was a nominee for a 2014 Shamus Award from Private Eye Writers of America (PWA).

[/wc_column][wc_column size=”one-third”]


Cindy Sample

Cindy Sample

Cindy Sample is a national bestselling and award-winning author of the Laurel McKay Mysteries. Her first humorous romantic mystery, Dying for a Date, was released in 2010. The sequel, Dying for a Dance, was a finalist for the 2012 LEFTY for best humorous mystery, and winner of the 2011 NCPA award for Best Fiction. Dying for a Daiquiri, released in October 2013, was a finalist for the 2014 Silver Falchion Award for Best Traditional Mystery, and awarded as a  2014 LEFTY finalist for best humorous mystery. Dying for a Dude was released November 2014.

[/wc_column][wc_column size=”one-third” position=”last”]


Simon Wood

Simon Wood

Simon Wood is an Anthony Award-winning author of a dozen books, as well as more than 150 published stories and articles. He writes thriller and mysteries, and also writes horror fiction under the name of Simon Janus. His previous books include Working Stiffs, Accidents Waiting to Happen, Paying the Piper, Terminated and We All Fall Down. His latest thrillers are Did Not Finish and its follow-up, Hot Seat. His next thriller, The One That Got Away, is due out in February. [/wc_column][/wc_row]

[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]

Our judges are members of:
The Northern California Chapter of Sisters in Crime
The Mystery Writers of America.

[wc_divider style=”dotted” line=”single” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]

Contest Chairperson: ANA MANWARING

Ana Manwaring

Ana Manwaring is a columnist, novelist, developmental editor through JAM Manuscript Consulting, and teaches memoir, personal essay, poetry and fiction writing through Napa Valley College. Her work has appeared in more than a dozen anthologies including Vintage Voices, Wisdom has a Voice, The Time They Were A Changing, as well as the award-nominated The Cry of the Nightbird, and Sisters Born, Sisters Found. She has also published haiku on KRCB radio, fiction in the Press Democrat, memoir in Women’s Voices, and non-fiction on blogs, and in newsletters and newspapers. Her fiction and poetry have won awards.

Ana is active in Napa Valley Writers, Redwood Writers, and is Treasurer for Sisters in Crime NorCal. Watch for The Hydra Effect, JadeAnne Stone Mexico Adventures, coming soon to ebooks. Visit her blog, her website, and follow her column in the Petaluma Post.

[wc_box color=”danger” text_align=”left”]

Did you miss your chance to enter this writing contest?
Click here to find out about the current contest, the 2015 Memoir Contest.
Find more writing opportunities under the “Contests” and “Publications” tabs on the menu, above.


[wc_divider style=”image” margin_top=”” margin_bottom=””]